Find a GJ Appraiser
ZipCode or State Advanced Search

GJ News and Events

Excellence in Gemology Award

Aug 16, 2012
2013 Antonio C. Bonanno Excellence in Gemology Award

Members of the American Society of Appraisers Gems and Jewelry Discipline have been invited to submit nominations for 2013 Antonio C. Bonanno Excellence in Gemology Award. This prestigious award recognizes major contributions made in the field of gemology, and is sponsored by the Accredited Gemologists Association (AGA).

Nominees for the Antonio C. Bonanno Award must have made a significant contribution to the gemological field, i.e., in research, education, etc., or defended and upheld gemological standards in a way that has benefited the larger gem and jewelry community. Past winners include leading research gemologists from world renowned laboratories, educators, market analysts, and developers of innovative software solutions for the gemological field.

The call for nominations is open to the international gem trade. Membership in the AGA is not required to nominate, nor be nominated for the Bonanno Award.

A valid nomination will explain why the proposed nominee should receive the award. The nomination should describe the current or past contribution(s) or accomplishment(s) that have inspired the nomination. Please provide specific examples in support of your candidate. Nominations should be made in 250 words or less. They can be submitted online at the AGA website or emailed to AGA administrator Jan Giamanco.

The winner is selected by the voting members of the AGA in November. The award consists of a specially commissioned bronze plaque, along with a specially commissioned medallion and check for US $2,000.

Winners are honored each year in Tucson, Arizona, at the Gala Awards Ceremony and Dinner-Dance held at the conclusion of the AGA Gemological Conference.