College of Fellows of the ASA

What is the College of Fellows?

The ASA College of Fellows is comprised of Accredited Senior Appraisers who have been recognized by their peers for their contributions to ASA and the appraisal profession. These members are conferred the designation of Fellow (FASA)—the highest honor ASA bestows.

The College of Fellows periodically publishes written expressions of its opinions, judgments, and conclusions concerning appraisal concepts, definitions, principles, methods, and practices with the intent of not only building an authoritative body of appraisal principles, but also recognizing that established principles are open to further refinement and development.


The ASA Board of Governors created the College of Fellows in 1973 and those previously conferred the grade of Fellow were grandfathered into the body. ASA has been conferring the grade of “Fellow” since 1954. Before establishing the College of Fellows, nominations were reviewed by the Nominating and Awards Committee and the findings were submitted to the board of governors for final action. The first Member to receive the distinction of Fellow was Daniel J. Hennessy.

Who is Eligible?

Any person holding the Accredited Senior Appraiser (ASA) designation may be nominated for the grade of Fellow. Nominations are reviewed in accordance with the procedures established by the College and mandated in the ASA Bylaws and Administrative Rules. Upon completion of the review process, College members vote on the nomination. A favorable vote results in submission of the nomination to ASAʼs Board of Governors for final approval.

Henry A. Babcock is largely credited as being the driving force behind the establishment of the ASA College of Fellows.


Confidential nominations are accepted annually between October 1 and December 15 (please download the nomination form below).  Fellows are announced annually in July.

College of Fellows Nomination Form           College of Fellows Rules of Procedure